Nebraska Office of Highway Safety (NOHS)
CHILD PASSENGER SAFETY TECHNICIAN CERTIFICATION COURSE DATES:
Click here to access the Nebraska Safe Kids website to register for a CPS technician certification course.2014 Child Passenger Safety Technician Certification Courses - To be announced at a later date
Like Check-Up Events, parents can get information and assistance on the proper use of child safety seats at inspection stations. Unlike Check-Up Events, inspection stations are permanent locations.
Most inspection stations require you to schedule an appointment.
Click here to view a list of inspection stations located in Nebraska.
Click here to locate a child passenger safety technician.
INSPECTION STATION APPLICATION
The purpose of this application is to be recognized as a Nebraska CSS inspection station. Applicants must be either a political subdivision or 501c3 non–profit organization. Upon recognition as a Nebraska CSS inspection station the organization may conduct child safety seat inspections as outlined in the application guidelines. Nebraska CSS inspection stations are eligible for funding assistance to purchase child restraint systems for low-income families.
Prior to completing a mini-grant contract every state, county, community, law enforcement agency, organization, etc.
eligible to apply and receive federal funding must read and comply with the guidelines of
the Grant Contract Proposal Guide and Policies and Procedures document.
The differences between what is "Legal" and what is "Recommended:"
Parents and other caregivers frequently ask the question “what is the law regarding buckling up my child?” Most parents and caregivers assume the law is the safest and what is recommended by safety experts. However, this is not always the case. Like other states' restraint laws, the Nebraska child passenger safety and safety belt laws are the result of compromises between the “best practice” recommendations of safety experts and provisions the legislators feel are practical, enforceable, and will be tolerated by the general public and their constituents.
Occupant restraint laws should be considered to be the minimum standards. The two biggest differences between what is legal vs. what is recommended are:
1. The laws are based on age whereas “best practice”
recommendations for the best crash
2. None of these laws require all occupants be buckled up at all times in all seating positions.
Parents and caregivers can be assured if they follow the "best practice" guidelines and recommendations for restraining children, it WILL be legal as well.
Important Safety Reminders
"Best Practice” recommendations for providing maximum protection for an infant, child, or adult can be found on
Safe Kids Nebraska website. For additional information on restraining
children past age five Click here
to view the "Boosters Are For Big Kids" flyer.
Putting a child's safety seat into a vehicle can be confusing. Installing a child safety seat properly is important for your child's safety! For tip on proper installation information click on any of the following links to external websites:
Check-Up events are set up in public areas such as shopping center parking lots. Checks are conducted for a set period of time (usually 3-4 hours). Parents and caregivers bring their child’s safety seat, motor vehicle, and child to the event. Trained child passenger safety technicians perform an evaluation for all children in the vehicle who are under 13 years old.
They will check for the following:
To find out when the next event will be held in your area, click on Nebraska Safe Kid’s website and click on “Calendar of Events.” The Safe Kids Nebraska Toll-Free Phone Number is 1-800-745-9311
In the United States, motor vehicle crashes were the leading cause of death for children age 4 and every age 11 through 14 years old (based on 2009 figures, from National Center for Health Statistics). During 2011, an average of 3 children age 14 and younger were killed and 469 were injured every day in motor vehicle crashes. (Source: NHTSA 2011)
Child safety seats reduce the risk of fatal injury by 71 percent for infants and by 54 percent for toddlers (1 to 4 years old) in passenger cars. (Source: NHTSA 2009)
During 2012 on Nebraska roadways:
2013 Child Safety Seat/Booster Seat Survey Result:
In Nebraska, child safety seat use is surveyed annually through observations conducted in rural and urban counties. Among the children observed in the 2013 study, 95.9% were riding in child safety seats/booster seats. This rate is comparable to the rates for the last few years (95.9% in 2012; 95.1% in 2011; and 91.5% in 2010). These rates are significantly higher than the rate observed when NOHS began this series of surveys in 1999 (56.2%).
Total observed child restraint use in rural counties increased from 96.0% in 2012 to 96.1% in 2013; urban counties results stay the same for 2013 and 2012 at 95.8%. Of the number of children in safety seats/booster seats:
Of the small number of children not in child safety seat/booster seats:
NHTSA Traffic Safety Facts:
Downloadable Order Forms (pdf):
Request Items for a Check-Up Event or Presentation:
Top of Page