
Nebraska 
Speeding Violations and Fine Information 

Few drivers view speeding as an immediate risk to their personal safety, but speeding 
reduces a driver’s ability to steer safely around curves on highways or objects in the 
roadway.  Speed extends the distance necessary to stop a vehicle and increases the 

distance a vehicle travels while a driver reacts to danger. 
 

Speeding Consequences 

The law for speed limit violations and fines can be found under section 60-682.01. 
 

You can be ticketed and charged with a speed violation by exceeding the posted speed 
limit for the road on which you are driving.  During poor weather conditions (i.e., snow, 
ice, rain, etc.), you could receive a ticket for speeding too fast for road conditions.  
Nebraska law enforcement officers use aircraft, Doppler radar, laser radar, and vascar to 
clock the speed of motor vehicles.   
 

FACT:  Speed -- exceeding the posted speed limit or driving too fast for conditions – is 
one of the most prevalent factors contributing to traffic crashes.  

 

FACT:  In Nebraska more than one out of ten fatal crashes are speed-related. 
 

FACT:  The chances of death or serious injury double for every 10 mph over 50 mph a 
vehicle travels. 

 

FACT:  The total stopping distance for a vehicle traveling at 60 mph is longer than a 
football field (100 yards); at 75 mph it takes 1 ½ football fields (150 yards). 

 

FACT:  Fines for speeding are doubled for exceeding the posted speed limit in 
construction and school crossing zones. 

 

 
Nebraska Office of Highway Safety   

 5001 South 14th, PO Box 94612, Lincoln, NE 68509 
 Telephone: 402-471-2515   Fax: 402-471-3865 

www.transportation.nebraska.gov/nohs/ 
 

Speeding Violation Normal Fine 

Fine in 

Construction Zone 
& 

School Crossing Zone 

 
Points Assessed 
Against Drivers 

License 

1-5 mph over posted limit $10.00 $20.00 1 

6-10 mph over posted limit $25.00 $50.00 2 

11-15 mph over posted limit $75.00 $150.00 3 

16-20 mph over posted limit $125.00 $250.00 3 

21-35 mph over posted limit $200.00 $400.00 3 

35 mph + over posted limit $300.00 $600.00 4 

(Fines do NOT include court costs.) 

http://nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=60-682.01

